Reviews & Coupon & Compare Prices :)

TomTom VIA 1605TM 6-Inch GPS Navigator with Lifetime Traffic & Maps Reviews and Coupon

~ TomTom
List Price: $219.95
Price: $159.99 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: $59.96 (27%)
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com in certified Frustration-Free Packaging. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow?
Order within 2 hrs 11 mins, and choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details
Is this a gift? This item ships in its own packaging. To keep the contents concealed, select This will be a gift during checkout.


Most Recent Customer Reviews

Basic yet kicks ass

Nice and big. No bluetooth, but who cares these days. I just want to know where to go and I love the big screen. Suits our big dash of our SUV

Published 22 hours ago by Simon Costanzo

TomTom VIA 1605M GPS Navigator

Perfect size maps, clear instructions and very reliable and exact. I am glad I got the Lifetime maps updates Bravo TomTom

Published 2 days ago by Alain Androuais

annoying

purchased my TomTom 1605 a couple of years ago and I have to admit ... I loved it! The screen size was such an improvement to my aging eyes and the interface was pretty good... Read more

Published 5 days ago by Robert Caroti

my 6" TomTom is great

I love the 6" screen and easy to operate I would recommend it. thin and easy to store away when not in use.

Published 7 days ago by Ron Ferguson

Works great, great screen size

The unit itself is well built and everything is contained to get it installed in the vehicle and up and running. Read more

Published 8 days ago by D. MCKICHAN

Great Unit. Not Perfect, But Pretty Good

Taking the unit out of the box I was impressed with its size and how easy the mount just folded out, at least as compared with the TomTom 1505M that I upgraded from. Read more

Published 9 days ago by Samuel Dylan Hrncir

Great idea

I like the larger screen as well as you can tell it your driving a motor home and get routed for a bigger vehicle. Read more

Published 11 days ago by tomh

First GPS Meets Expectations

I bought this for my husband's birthday as it was highly rated by Consumer Reports. He is 100% satisfied, which makes me happy!

Published 16 days ago by janet m. tuccinardi

Glad to be using TomTom again

My first GPS unit was a TomTom. I received a Magellan unit from my employer, so the TomTom went to my mother-in-law, who's still using it several years later. Read more

Published 17 days ago by W. L. Holder

Bigger and well worth the extra price

Comparing this with the GPS i just got last Spring is quite a difference the larger screen is a vast improvement I really like the split screen when you come to multiple lanes on a... Read more

Published 18 days ago by Kipp Poe Speicher


Most Helpful Customer Reviews

80 of 80 people found the following review helpful

Decent PerformerJuly 14, 2012

By Vicky

Style Name:with Lifetime Maps and Traffic

I bought it 3 weeks back from Costco - have driven over 2500 miles since then during holidays from Chicago to Ny and St Louis. Hence feel I am in a decent position now to provide feedback.

Usability - Initially it was a challenge as I was using Garmin earlier - hence was not used to Tom Tom interface - now I sort of like it. Typically like Zip code search, also good is it gives a zoomed out route picture before starting any route - which is helpful specifically in long routes.
One -ve point is - when you start the unit - sometimes it is sluggish - i.e. if you press a button on a screen - it takes time to respond.

Accuracy/Navigation - Found the unit pretty accurate - it can guide you pretty much out of a parking space as well. It identifies any route changes very quickly. Also finds satallite pretty quickly and easily. I was suprised when it was helping me to drive out of a covered parking garage in St. Louis. Never got any issue with maps in 2500 miles I have driven - except at an exit in St Louis - though I havent updated my map yet after purchase - so assume Tom Tom should have taken care of it. I didn't loose satellite anywhere even when driving under covered road in cities.

Traffic - I will give it 3.5 points - couple of times it has helped. Though sometimes - I was driving in city highway with heavy traffic and it had no clue about it. Not sure if this is a problem with service/refresh rate. I though like the reroute options - it paints the alternate route in blue color (rather then red color of current route) - helps to take decision very quickly. Also I guess since this is not Tom Tom HD Traffic - thats why refresh rates are lower. Though I like that it gives traffic updates not just of highways but of city roads as well.
Read more ›

126 of 130 people found the following review helpful

excellent upgrade from my old magellan June 15, 2012

By Anonymous

Style Name:with Lifetime Maps and Traffic

This is my first tomtom and i upgraded from a magellan 1470. I was a loyal magellan fan until I tried their latest 5220LM which froze constantly (i returned it). I tested my new tomtom with a 500 mile trip, and it was flawless. lots of features like lane guide at the major highway interchanges. auto zoom at turns. clear vocal instructions 2 miles, 1/2 mile, and just before turnoffs. at one point I asked it to provide a detour due to construction, and the tomtom confidently mapped an alternate route on the fly. excellent, extensive POI database. love the large 6" screen. good brightness, better than my magellan but still a tiny bit difficult to see on a sunny day with sunglasses. auto rotate when turned upside down (for mounting). Note this is a pure GPS, no other stuff like bluetooth or mp3 player.

setup was simple on a windows pc, you will need to download the "support application" so your pc can recognize the device first, then just connect via usb and follow the directions. you get a free firmware and a map update. After that, you will need to submit a registration code for follow-on (4 per year) map updates. the download itself was large and took me ~1 hour, but as my first tomtom it may be faster for others who know what to do. the update process itself when compared to the magellan was a breeze. the magellan is known for a really poor update process and often results in people bricking their units (just read the reviews). I found the tomtom update is much more flexible and forgiving.

I took away 1 star due to a few feature gaps vs my old 1470. first, the unit it a bit slower response wise than my magellan. for example when you type in an address or select a feature, there's a notable delay.
Read more ›

71 of 74 people found the following review helpful

Super! July 4, 2012

By Jay

Style Name:with Lifetime Maps and Traffic

I've owned a Tomtom GO730 for many years and felt it was time to move to a more state of the art unit. The old unit, which was my first, did the job but had several flaws.

1. It would erase my favorites whenever it updated maps.
2. It had a dim screen
3. It's connection to the power source would disconnect due to loosening with time.
4. You had to flip thru a zillion screens to get to a particular feature that you wished to change.

Also, the unit cost me almost $300, and that's not including the cost of a case for the unit (another $35), a case to hold the unit and supplies ($35), a connection gizmo to the windshield ($65),yearly maps ($45/yr), and yearly traffic ($65/yr)

I had planned to buy a Garmin this time since I had heard such good things about it. But recently, I heard that Garmin's products aren't as good as they used to be and that Tomtom was improving.

The Garmin product I planned to buy cost about $350 and had a 5" screen (max for Garmin). This Tomtom unit which just came out, is half the price, with a 6" screen, and many desirable features...(no MP3 or Phone though)

1. It has a built in suction cup to connect to the windshield that works flawlessly. Don't need to buy one. It also adjusts to connecting to windshield or dashboard (The screen flips..a cool feature)

2. Maps are free for life.

3. Traffic is free for life and built into the power supply (no need for additional wires)

4. Screen is bright.

5. Favorites don't erase with map updates.

I've used it many times now and it works flawlessly. I'm very pleased.

Also, while it won't transfer all of the various voices that I had on the old Tomtom, it does transfer the ones u paid for, which is nice. IMHO, this is a great buy.


Special Offers and Product Promotions

Style: with Lifetime Maps and Traffic
  • Six-Month Financing: For a limited time, purchase $149 or more using the Amazon.com Store Card and pay no interest for 6 months on your entire order if paid in full in 6 months. Interest will be charged to your account from the purchase date if the promotional balance is not paid in full within 6 months. Minimum monthly payments required. Subject to credit approval. 1-Click and phone orders do not apply. See complete details and restrictions.

Product Description

Style: with Lifetime Maps and Traffic

From the Manufacturer


TomTom VIA 1605 TM

TomTom VIA 1605 TM lifestyle TomTom VIA 1605 TM
Your Journey…on the BIG SCREEN
Experience safe and easy navigation on the BIG SCREEN.

The 6″ VIA 1605 TM combines big screen navigation with Free Lifetime Traffic and Map Updates. Once you drive with a TomTom device, you’ll never want to drive without one. TomTom created the first digital maps for drivers; we are a world leader in navigation. At TomTom, we realize that the best in-car navigation should be easy to use and have the best quality maps. We’re here to ensure your journey is smooth, from start to finish.

It doesn’t get bigger than this—6″ screen

We have updated the VIA series with sleek new hardware and our biggest device to date—a 6″ screen with better resolution than ever before. It’s now designed to include a better user interface, sharper graphics and more visible icons—for a better view of the road ahead.

Feel like a king in the driver’s seat—with a 6″ screen plus Free Lifetime Traffic and Map Updates

The VIA 1605 TM is perfect for anyone who wants intuitive navigation on a BIG 6″ screen. It also comes with Free Lifetime Traffic and Map Updates, so you automatically get real-time traffic updates to your TomTom device and your maps change when the roads do. Every device in this series includes our TomTom Maps with IQ Routes and Map Share technology. These devices keep you up-to-date with dynamic road changes on a daily basis, with maps that cover the US, Canada and Mexico.


Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates

Includes Free Lifetime Traffic and Map Updates

Free Lifetime Traffic and Map Updates

Roads change: so do our maps. Your TomTom device receives free up-to-the-minute traffic information and updated maps every three months. All you need to do is download a new edition of TomTom's maps, the industry's most accurate. And you'll always be up-to-date.


Advanced lane guidance - TomTom VIA 1605 TM

Advanced Lane Guidance—know the correct lane, in advance

Click here for a larger image

Advanced Lane Guidance

Know which way to go—in advance

Advanced Lane Guidance

Never miss your exit or turn with Advanced Lane Guidance. It shows you exactly which lane to take before you approach an exit, turn or difficult intersection—so you can stay on the right path.


Points of Interest

Local information—at your fingertips

Points of Interest

Your pre-installed map has Points of Interest, from gas stations to hotels, so you're sure to find what you want.


Roadside Assistance

Help when you need it

Roadside Assistance

Need help? TomTom’s Roadside Assistance connects you to a specialist—wherever or whenever you need one.



Roadside Assistance

The fastest routes and most accurate arrival times

IQ Routes

The world's biggest database of real travel times is built into every TomTom device. Which means you'll get the fastest routes and most accurate arrival times. It's genius!


Hardware

6″ Touchscreen

Safe and easy navigation on the BIG SCREEN. See your next instruction better on our biggest and sharpest screen yet. Bigger menus and buttons on the extra-large 6″ high-resolution screen make input simpler.

VIA 1605 TM Mount

Integrated mount with flip screen attaches easily to
your windshield or dashboard.

Click here for a larger image

Integrated Mount

Your device has a folding mount on the back, so it attaches easily to your windshield; use the optional disk to attach it to your dashboard.

Specifications
  • 6″ (15.4 cm) 16:9 Resistive screen
  • Screen resolution of WVGA 800 x 480 pixels

Map Coverage

Maps of US, Canada and Mexico
US, Canada & Mexico

Your device comes with the latest maps of the US, Canada and Mexico installed already, so you are ready to navigate.

Map Share

Free Daily Map Changes from the Map Share community. Includes dynamic changes like new speed limits and blocked roads. Some things change overnight and can delay your journey. Map Share helps you deal with the more frequent road changes. Avoid detours and get to your destination even faster.

VIA 1605 TM Box TomTom Logo

What's in the Box

  • TomTom VIA 1605 TM device with preloaded maps
  • USB Car charger with integrated traffic receiver
  • USB cable
  • Documentation
  • Adhesive Disk
  • Integrated Mount
Compare the full line of TomTom products

Product Description

TomTom VIA 1605TM 6-Inch GPS Navigator with Lifetime Traffic & Maps

Technical Details

Style: with Lifetime Maps and Traffic
  • Brand Name: TomTom
  • Model: 1EN6.019.00
  • Display Size: 6 inches
  • Battery Average Life: 3 Hours
  • Map Type: North America

Product Features

Style: with Lifetime Maps and Traffic
  • 6-Inch Touch Screen - Navigation on the Big Screen
  • Lifetime Traffic & Map Updates - Outsmart traffic and road changes
  • TomTom Roadside Assistance - Reliable roadside assistance you can trust, 24/7
  • Advanced Lane Guidance - Highlights the correct lane
  • TomTom Maps of US, Canada & Mexico
See more product details
www.electronicswarrantiesreviews.co.uk is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to amazon.com.